Smithers and Esko webinar: achieving first time right color in the packaging workflow

Smithers and Esko webinar: achieving first time right color in the packaging workflow

Color communication, from inspiration to production in the packaging workflow, is to a large extent an intangible challenge. All too often product marketeers of global brands are on-site at the converters printing plant to give the “good for print” approval.

The words used to describe desired changes to the colors of a packaging design are far from scientific. Expressions like “can this red be a bit warmer” or “I need a bit more punch in that orange” are at the root cause of a lot of resources wasted (and increased stress-levels for the press crew) at press start-up time.  And it’s even worse: not only the terminology is vague, it’s unclear what the target actually is.

Automate – Digitize – Connect. These three words describe a path towards a solution for the above challenge that many packaging converters recognize. Digitizing the color target specification, and communicating that spec digitally throughout the workflow, automating the setup of inline press inspection systems and providing feedback of on-press color performance to that same brand product manager via a web-based packaging management platform. All this and more technology is available today, and acts on the promise of first time right color.

The webinar will feature a presentation from Jan De Roeck, marketing director at Esko, looking at how color in packaging design can be managed through the workflow.

How Packaging Connected delivers First Time Right color

  • Date: Thursday 14 February 2019
  • Time: 4pm CET / 3pm GMT / 11am EDT / 8am PDT
  • Speaker: Jan De Roeck, marketing director, Esko
Register for this free webinar