In recent years, the call for stringent cybersecurity standards for organizations that handle sensitive data has only grown louder. Cyberattacks are now commonplace and are likely to only get worse as technology, and the mechanisms behind it, continue to evolve and change at a rapid pace. If an entity is not prepared for these possibilities, then the results can be catastrophic - a recognized data breach can cause massive damage to a company's reputation, evaporate trust among clients, cost the business jobs or opportunities, and financial loss through theft.

As the potential threat from these cyberattacks continues to grow, increased legislation and requirements to specific cybersecurity standards has become more wide spread. Two such cybersecurity standards are NIST 800-171 and Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). Each of these standards provides excellent guidance to organizations as the begin putting protocols and cybersecurity management best practices in place, ensuring that the company is protecting itself as best it can.

The Smithers Quality Assessment Division is committed to providing expertise, support, and certification services for both NIST 800-171 and CMMC.  

Read the latest release: U.S. Department of Defense on CMMC Pilot Programs for 2021.

How can we help?

Cybersecurity Services

NIST 800-171 Webinars


Join us for our upcoming webinar series on NIST 800-171.

Find out the latest answers to some of the most common
questions surrounding the current state of CMMC.

NIST 800-171 Companion Guide


CMMC Companion Guide


Latest Resources

See all resources